The BenRiach Distillery Company wins award and 11 medals at 2014 “Malt Maniacs” Competition

A 29 year-old BenRiach single malt has been voted “Best Peated Whisky” in the Ultra Premium category of the 2014 Malt Maniacs Awards.
In addition, the BenRiach Distillery Company won a further two silver and eight bronze medals at the annual awards which over the years have evolved into one of the most influential and independent whisky competitions in the annual whisky calendar.

The annual Malt Maniacs competition has three categories – Daily Drams, Premium Whiskies and Ultra Premium Whiskies – and within each category it offers five awards, including Best Peated Whisky. The judges also acknowledge quality whiskies by awarding gold, silver and bronze medals.

The silver medals are:

  • BenRiach 1984, cask # 4051, 29 Years Old, Peated, Tawny Port Finish, Batch 11
  • GlenDronach 1993, cask # 475, 21 Years Old, Customer Exclusive
  • GlenDronach 1995, cask # 1563, 19 Years Old, Customer Exclusive

Glenglassaugh-Torfar-519x456It also scooped eight bronze medals for all three of its brands – BenRiach, GlenDronach and Glenglassaugh:

  • GlenDronach 18 Years Old Allardice
  • GlenDronach 1991, cask # 1346, 22 Years Old, Batch 10
  • BenRiach 15 Years Old Pedro Ximenez Finish
  • Glenglassaugh Torfa
  • BenRiach Solstice, 17 Years Old, Peated, Tawny Port Finish
  • GlenDronach 18 Years Old Tawny Port Finish
  • Glenglassaugh 1968, cask # 1601, 45 Years Old, Batch 1
  • Glenglassaugh Evolution

Sales Director Alistair Walker said: “We are delighted to win these terrific awards because they are given by true whisky lovers who are incredibly knowledgeable and passionate about whisky. They devote a massive amount of time and effort to nosing, tasting, sampling and re-sampling all the entries, so to win one of their awards and a total of eleven medals is a huge compliment.“

The Malt Maniacs Awards cap a very successful year for the company. Earlier this month Whisky Magazine voted the BenRiach Distillery Company “Whisky Distiller of the Year” and it celebrated its tenth anniversary as an independent company.